Posted on

When I look in the mirror, I don’t recognize myself.

No, this not a metaphor.
It is not introspection or masked repulsion for “who I have turned into”.
There will be none of that.

I literally, do not recognize myself each time I look in the mirror.
I look so different to myself each time. I don’t alter my appearance much. Everyday, I put the same (barely any) things on my face, wear the same general scheme of clothes and the exact same shoes. Yet, each time I look in there, I see a brand new person looking at me.

Sometimes, I look in the mirror and I am feeling different than I look so I will apply my kajal a little differently to adjust for the feeling differential. And even five minutes later, if I happen to see my reflection, I will look different to myself.

I don’t really look into the mirror very often. Sparingly, in fact.
On an average I would say once a day, after I shower.
I have started to believe (since I believe we change {drastically} everyday), that our appearance changes as fast as our thoughts do. Perhaps correspondingly.

About ancilla9876

I'm a young, female, Indian submissive and masochist. I am many other things, of course. But this blog mostly deals with the contents of my lede sentence.

3 responses to “When I look in the mirror, I don’t recognize myself.

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger award | writingthebody

Leave a Reply

